Hihi Recovery Group

The HRG is an advisory group set up by the New Zealand Government through the Department of Conservation (DOC). Our large membership consists of experts from DOC, international and New Zealand based universities, conservation research institutions, conservation managers, local community conservation groups and iwi. This mix is viewed as an absolute strength. We have developed a clear and shared set of management objectives that we work to achieve together, using the best evidence-based management we have available.

HIHI Recovery Group Members


Dr John Ewen
Zoological Society of London

Lynn Adams
Department of Conservation


Auckland Council
Bruce Harrison
Matt Maitland

Auckland University of Technology
Dr John Perrott

Bushy Park Trust
Mandy Brooke

Deparment of Conservation
Neil Anderson
Lee Barry
Lane Haxton
Troy Makan
Dr Kate McInnes

Hihi Conservation Charitable Trust
Mhairi McCready

Massey University
Prof Doug Armstrong
Dr Liz Parlato

Ngati Manuhiri

Parker Conservation Limited
Dr Kevin Parker

Roto Scenic Reserve Trust
Fiona Gordon

Sanctuary Mountain Maungatautari
Dr Janelle Ward

Shakespear Open Sanctuary Society
Maree Johnson

Supporters of Tiritiri Matangi
Morag Fordham

University of Auckland
Laura Duntsch (Student)
Dr Anna Santure

University of Helsinki
Dr Rose Thorogood

Waikatro Regional Council
Dr Kate Richardson

Rachel Selwyn
Dr Danielle Shanahan

Zoological Society of London
Dr Caitlin Andrews
Dr Patricia Brekke
Dr Victoria Franks
Ashleigh Marshell (Student)
Fay Morland( Student)